In Her Dreams – Katherine Givens

IHDFans of Pride and Prejudice will adore Katherine Givens novella In Her Dreams, all the required elements are there busybody mother – check, sisters of a marriageable age –  check, a very eligible and proper member of the gentry – check. Clandestine meetings while sleeping…not so much, regardless I loved this quick satisfying historical.

Evangeline Vernon is a woman on the verge of spinsterhood — until the prim and proper Duke of Manchester steps in. Her family is pleased with the match, but the duke is not the passionate man Evangeline craves. Her heart belongs to an alluring, golden-haired gentleman, perfect in every way…except one: he doesn’t exist.

Angela Vernon is everything a proper, well-brought-up woman should be. She knows her place and understands society’s expectations — which include not being jealous of her sister and not coveting her sister’s suitor. But how can she bear the heartache of watching the only man she loves marry not only her sister, but a woman who doesn’t see past his exterior to the man he is beneath?

While it is not precisely a Pride and Prejudice variation In Her Dreams touches on many of the beloved tale’s mores and themes and Katherine Givens has done so skillfully and with a deft use of the supernatural. My criticisms of this novella are few, perhaps an uneven use of the paranormal elements of the story with little or no explanation to their origin and only pertaining to one sister rather than both, an acceptance of them that is not quite in keeping with the historical setting. A conclusion that just a little too pat, with no real fallout from the sister’s actions but ultimately In Her Dreams is a light, satisfying read that is well worth the effort.

AUTHOR: Katherine Givens

RATING: 3 1/2 Stars

GENRE: Fantasy Romance

http://www.escapepublishing.com.au/product/9780857990884

Disclaimer: ARC was kindly provided by the publisher for an honest review. 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s